Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

hey. my name is michelle. i'm 20 years old living by myself at the second largest university in the us. i'm having some major struggles with being almost one month post op and supposed to be living it up in college. it's supposed to be the best years of my life, yet i feel so trapped. with football season going on, even more so. i was hoping this site could lead me to some amazing people who can help me with this new life change because most of my friends have kind of deserted me or don't really know what i'm going through.

i'm not really sure how this site works yet, but my email is mblate@aol.com

hope to hear from some great people soon!

It's been almost 20 years since I was an undergrad co-ed, but I guess I'm not understanding where you're having a problem. We went to class during the day, and hit the campus gym a few evenings a week, so there shouldn't be a problem there. We drank (ok, I see your point) and partied on the weekends. With the exception of drinking, why do you feel that you're not getting the support you need?

Wow - what a hard transition that must be! The first month or two are especially challenging as you adjust your habits to such a great extent. Also, I found that in the beginning I lacked energy - although by 6 weeks or so that really changed.

And friends... If they were used to a different you, someone who they could socialize by eating with, and maybe even had some specific notion of who you were based on your weight (speaking from experience!) it can be quite a change.

I am well past college at 36, but also attended a very large school. It can be easy to get lost in the crowd. I hope that as some time passes from your surgery, and your habits change, you may find some like-minded people. I know that four months ago I couldn't have imagined friendships based on hiking together, but here I am.