Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

concerns about having surgery

When I was looking for a group online. I signed up for one and found out later that it was an Australian group, I should have known by the kg instead of lbs, but I am not that familiar with the internet and groups and everything. Anyway, when I was there I was reading a lot of post about dieting and people not losing weight. I didn't think the lap band was about fad dieting. I know we are suppose to eat healthy, but they were talking about no carbs, red zone, and different things like that. These people either were a few months in or were at 90% of there weight loss. I can do fad diets without the band, and I already have problems with my metabolism. I don't want to get the band and still be struggling with diets and not being able to lose weight. I hope I made myself clear. Like I said I'm new to this and nervous, I'm more of a phone person myself, but I need to do this for the support. I don't know anyone at all who has or is having this done. This has made nervous about having the lap band though. I hope someone can help clear this up, so I can understand better.

Stephanie

I think it's about what works best for you. Some do low carb, some do low fat, some only count calories. But to be successful with the Lap Band you will have to completely change your eating habits and lifestyle. Most of us (but not all) do at the very least count calories to make sure we're not going over our daily allowance.

Band or no band, weight loss boils down to basic math. If you burn more calories than you consume, you will lose weight.

Also keep in mind the band isn't meant to physically stop you from eating anything. It will forever be your job to monitor what and how much you eat. What the band does do it is it allows you to be satisfied on less food for longer periods of time- and it does it very well.