Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Why cant I lose weight naturally?

I am a newbie still in the early stages of the process. Finding this forum has been a good thing as I hear what others have gone through. As I am researching having WLS for myself, I want to pose a question that I am trying to formulate a ready response for. How would I explain to someone who has not struggled with weight why I cant just simply reduce my intake and viola! I can loose the 120 lbs I need to lose? It seems there are some people who assume I just don't have any willpower, and that weight loss is simply a behavioral problem. Over the last 25 years it seems I gain a little at a time, then when I try to lose, my body lets me drop 15 lbs then stops everything. I hit that plateau that I have never gotten past despite having worked REALLY hard on. I will tell you... I am an engineer with two masters degrees and two board certifications. Will power has never been one of my problems. I don't eat bad, and have taken even further steps over the last year to eat right. No pizza, Pasta, sugar, etc. I eat a lot of lean meat and greens. The problem is I lose to a point then my metabolism seems to stop; my body waits me out and then if I lose my routine for a few days (like traveling) then I lose momentum. In the past, weight loss efforts ultimately stop because I get demoralized and I give up and quit caring.

I dont need to give anyone an answer to why I am choosing WLS.. Frankly its none of their business; however, I do want to know what other people have found to explain this metabolic resistance. I know Grehlin is responsible, but what have you all come to on this?

1 hour ago, tonbra32 said:

I am an engineer with two masters degrees and two board certifications. Will power has never been one of my problems.

Hi welcome! Genetics is a humbling *****