Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Letting go things I love

I am new to the the forum. I am so scared that I will miss things I love so much. Stuff I believe keeping me fat. I don't want to give up an occasional glass of wine. A nice sandwich from time to time. Or even a slice of pizza. This is my dilemma. I am clearef for surgery on the 23 rd of January. I want this so bad but I don't want to let go stuff I enjoy sometime. Iam 5'3". I weight 216 lbs. Tried every diet in the book. Nothing worked for me so is there anyone that could shed some light on how I am feeling

Sent from my SM-G928T using the BariatricPal App

I want to encourage you by saying that the cravings get SO MUCH better after surgery. Honestly. You won't be giving up a glass of wine forever. My surgeon says that you can start incorporating alcohol back in at 6 mos, but they recommend waiting until you hit your goal. The food cravings really do go away.

Ask yourself: is pizza really worth your health? There are really good Pizza Crust substitutes that you can make with cauliflower that taste great and satisfy the craving. There is always a way around cravings. You can do this!

Honestly letting go of the food didn't bother me as much as letting go of my clothes.

The food part is honestly pretty short. You have 6 months of healing, 12 months to lose the bulk of your weight and maybe about another 6 months to lose some weight. The weight loss phase where your food choices are limited is pretty small in the big scheme of things. Once you get to goal or close you have things you like in moderation. As long as you are good like 90% of the time.

You should think about what you can gain, not what you are losing.

I care more about all my shoes and clothes I gave anyway than any one food.

Honestly letting go of the food didn't bother me as much as letting go of my clothes.