Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Help I went in for my initial consultation and wanted the Gastric Sleeve the doctor suggested the Duodenal switch surgery

Help I went in for my initial consultation and wanted the Gastric Sleeve the doctor suggested the Duodenal switch surgery. I'm 6ft2 450lbs and it took me a lot to take this first step and I was confused and disappointed. My bmi was like 60 and I was wondering what your thoughts are. I read the pros and cons and I know the DS has more risk but he seemed to push it. I have mild diabetes and sleep apnea and major knee problems and blood pressure otherwise healthy. Age is 58.

I'm a newbie just joined tonight and read lots of encouraging stories.

Thanks in advance for any input.

Sent from my iPhone using the BariatricPal App

Edited by BigJohn58

Perhaps have a 2nd opinion. Just to see what another surgeon thinks. Do you have GERD? I have heard people with severe GERD don't usually get the sleeve but bypass instead (I think?)

Help I went in for my initial consultation and wanted the Gastric Sleeve the doctor suggested the Duodenal switch surgery. I'm 6ft2 450lbs and it took me a lot to take this first step and I was confused and disappointed. My bmi was like 60 and I was wondering what your thoughts are. I read the pros and cons and I know the DS has more risk but he seemed to push it. I have mild diabetes and sleep apnea and major knee problems and blood pressure otherwise healthy. Age is 58.

I'm a newbie just joined tonight and read lots of encouraging stories.

Thanks in advance for any input.