Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Pcp Scared The Crap Outta Me

i just went to see my PCP and ask for a full panal to get on top of me post op care and she sat there and tried to talk me out of it for an hour. She would come back to it 4 times.

she is like my hands are tied of anyhitng goes wrong and you have complications.

I said great I will just die then. those are my options. Die a slow fat deathor die a little sooner maybe thinner..

Jesus.

you go girl! Stay Strong! everybody and their momma tried to talk me out of it! When we are overweight, they have something to say but when we want to become healthier, THEN its a bad idea. what the crap!!

Thank you so much!

I mean i don;t have enough anxiety as it is. She could have at least supported me a bit. Maybe I should have never brought it up.

I work In the medical field. Honestly some people are for it and others are just against it. This includes medical professionals. People all have their opinions, but you educated yourself and you apparently already know what you want. I'm glad you stood your ground. Keep your head up.

Don't be surprised if you need to find a new PCP following your surgery. I've heard of alot of PCPs not wanting to treat patients that have had WLS because they are afraid of malpractice if they prescribe something you're not allowed to have. Alot of Dr's just aren't educated in it if it's not in their field. Good luck though!

Is there such a thing as a PCP that specializes in bariatrics?

I was the same way. Some people had negative things to say before my surgery but I told my family that if something happened to me during the surgery to know that I died happy because I was finally getting the surgery I have wanted to help me for a long time. You can't let the negativity get you down if you have your mind made up. Good luck.