Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Cupcakes And Lap Band?

Yes, I'm a pastry chef, cake designer, cupcake maker...I own a successfull cake business and I'm on day one of my pre-op liquid diet. I have no idea how I will ever make it through these 9 days...working in the bakery this morning, I quickly realized how bad my habits were. I kept grabbing, unconsciously for cookie dough, an extra piece of chocolate, a little lick of frosting and had to stop myself. Honestly, I don't know if I even did take a sample of anything, my unconscious eating habits have gotten that bad. I'm starving...I have a headache and I just want to stuff a turkey club, chips and a cupcake in my mouth. I certainly hope this gets better after surgery, and certainly hope its worth it, considering my love affair with food. Surgery is November 2nd 2012 and I'm feeling depressed about it, wondering if I've made the right decision. I know I need to push through, I'm just hoping I'm not the only one feeling this way? It's not like I can distance myself from food...it's my livelihood. I also hope that I will still have the drive to come up with new recipes. I found myself wanting to make something different today, and then telling myself who cares, you can't have it anyway, what's the point? Oh boy, I hope I can get past this! Or I'll be broke! LOL :) and hungry....

I think the first step is that you recognize your love affair with food. Understandably in your job you would need to taste, but try to be disciplined for the pre-op diet, then remember, it is not that we will never be able to eat again, or taste again. This procedure is a tool to help us recognize and limit our intake. You will just need to account for your test tasting!! Hang in there.... it is a struggle...I am on 3rd day of my preop diet, I am scheduled to be banded November 5th!!!!!! Good Luck!