Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

How to Get a Gastric Sleeve with Low BMI - Where to Go, How to Convince Doctors I Need It

Hi Folks,

I am new to the forum, but have gotten a lot of good information over the years from you folks, so thank you! A bit about me, I am a corporate attorney in the D.C. market (I live in northern VA), an author, an avid outdoorsman, a husband in about as perfect a marriage as I could dream existed (I got together with my wife when we were teenagers), and the dad of an adorable toddler. I have finally settled on a gastric sleeve as the right surgery for me, but I have been quite disappointed to learn that insurance will not likely pay for the procedure, and at least at the first level of contact at different institutions that perform such surgeries tell me that they will not likely even consider me, even if I pay out of pocket, which I am quite prepared to do.