Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

What Staples Are in Your Pantry?

I am just beginning this journey and I am curious to know what items to keep in my pantry and what to get rid of.

I live alone, so I don't have to keep anything that I don't need to eat there. I'm also on disability so I can't afford to waste food ;)

I love spices and seasonings and I realize that I have to be careful with the seasonings. I figure the spices I have are good. I grow some herbs and dry them or freeze them in ice cubes.

What about any Condiments or dressings?

I figure I'm getting everything out of the house now so I'm not tempted. My hubby (we're separated but still best friends) is going to get a nice package of food!

Edited by fairee

I had my daughter take all my cake mixes, Pasta, etc. My food cupboard is usually stuffed. It is kinda nice to have some room in there. The only thing I have bought recently is low-sodium, fat free broth, Stevia and sugar-free Jello.

I'm pre op and purged ALL of my bad food. I only have healthy things like sugar free Jello and pudding. Wheat thins. Protein Bars and shakes. broth. Stevia. Spices and seasoning (because I can only eat plan grilled chicken so much). Low sodium soy sauce. And then A TON of 4 ounce containers for mean planning and Portion Control. My doctor put me on a diet eating 4 ounces of good Protein and healthy food every 3 hours.

@@Tssiemer1 ... what part of Ohio are you from? I'm in Warren, just outside of Youngstown

I'm just north of Cincinnati.

I have a couple boxes of mac n cheese and Pasta and jars of sauce for my husband

for me i have some cans of refried Beans, some cans of Soup, cans of tuna, cans of chicken, cans of corned beef hash,

in the fridge I have greek yogurt, string cheese, those round cheeses in the red wax wrappers, skim mik

I also have frozen fruit and Popsicle in the freezer

I'm just north of Cincinnati.

I am in the Dayton area

We pretty much got rid of anything made in a factory.