Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hi everyone,

The facts:

• I'm pre-sleeve.
  • I am single and live alone.
  • I don't enjoy cooking because I'm not very good at it and I don't tend to eat leftovers. When I throw them out I feel guilty about how much is wasted.

It's clear that it will be much easier for me to be successful if I can make my meals at home. But they'll be so very tiny.

So I've been giving my Magic Bullet a try with Protein shakes. This can work.

Eventually I'll be allowed to have solid food. And I expect I will probably want to have it regularly, so I just ordered an ANOVA Sous Vide Precision Cooker so I can cook small portions. Does anyone have experience with sous vide?

Also, since I'm not very clever in the kitchen, can you recommend a good cookbook/website? I'm looking for something that has real-people food featured -- the kind that calls for regular ingredients that I can find at a typical grocery store, and doesn't take hours to prepare.

Thanks in advance!

Catt

Yes, there is a very good website (blog) dedicated to bariatric / high Protein cooking:

The World According to Eggface

Found this by searching "Cooking for one" on Pinterest.

I hate to cook, but I found I wanted something better than canned Soups. I have gotten several recipes from the world according to Eggface, as well as from searching on Pinterest. Since I am starting a new way of life, I might as well cook. And yes, I consider scrambling an egg is cooking to me!

Yes the world according to eggface is very good and if you google bariatric cookery you will find many sites.A sous vide machine hey you realize how posh that is ?Good luck.Pippinleicester.

Sous vide is the only way to cook IMHO! Great choice!! It'll soften up your food without drying it up. You can always cook stuff and freeze it in freezer bags and just reheat in oven.