Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I've been reading posts and see that some doctors require diets with no caffeine. I'm not as worried about giving up food as I am coffee and iced tea. Is this temporary, just pre-surgery? Wouldn't unsweetened iced tea be included in a liquid diet?

Thanks, total beginner here and just now scheduling surgery class, NUT and MH visits for surgery late April/May.

I was told no caffeine due to irritation to the stomach. I used to be one of those people that would have 3-4 cups a day, and I could drink a pot at night and still go to bed with no ill effects. Now that I've detoxed myself off of it, I have a Decaf coffee once in a while, and I really don't even enjoy the taste of it anymore. I was never a big tea drinker before either, but I do like a peppermint tea now and then (caffeine free of course) :)

Yup, caffeine is a gastric irritant. I have been zealously compliant with almost all my team's rules. Caffeine is not one of them. I started having a half serving of Chike iced coffee Protein Shake a couple weeks after surgery. About three months after surgery I started having an occasional cup of black coffee. I was supposed to wait six months. I haven't had any problems, but I have always had a digestive tract made of steel (my whole family does - my brother in law swears we could all survive on a diet of old dirty t-shirts, rusty tin cans, and noxious weeds) and wasn't expecting any problems. So, I strongly encourage everyone to follow their doctor's orders and not my terrible example.

Coffee (especially) and some teas can be an irritant... caffeine whets your appetite, so it makes you feel hungry... I have Decaf iced tea ALL the time...with tocani SF Syrup (raspberry) or splenda/stevia... I don't like any of the other crystal lights etc ... yet...