Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

An honest question. Why are we here?

An outsider would look at most of us and assume we are all over-eaters. Although many of us fall into that category, I thought a little self reflection could help us correct some of the things we all do collectively that made the "sleeve" procedure our best option. Speaking strictly for myself, this is how it happened to me:

1. I am a computer technician. I sit behind a keyboard eight hours a day. At night, I am a student. The only physical exercise I get is lifting my coffee cup, or walking to the kitchen to make a sandwich.

2. I have Asthma, so working out is out of the question. I bought bicycles for my wife and I to get a little exercise, but it's hard to pedal for any distance when you are having trouble breathing.

3. I eat the most at night, the worst possible time. I never learned to take a few minutes out of each day for myself.

4. I eat out too often. Restaurant portions are obscene, but I have no problem eating every bite.

5. Anxiety - I take medication that is known to pack on the pounds. I made the decision years ago to be fat rather than drive myself nuts.

Thanks for taking the time to read my story. I'm certain everyone would love to here yours!

Love this. I work two fulltime jobs. Its not so much how i eat, but what and when i eat. There is no time for exercise or cooking. So many people tell me why dont you just diet. If I could, and keep it off, i would have done it years ago.

I was a food addict and still am but the sleeve prevents me from overeating too much. I slipped around the holidays and gained 30 lbs back because I kept eating slider foods. I didn't think I could gain weight back after being sleeved but I sure learned my lesson. Now I track everything I put in my mouth and eat under 1200 calories a day. I make sure that I exercise at least 30 minutes daily as well. I have anxiety too and take meds for it, which increases my appetite.