Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I Hate How People Label Us Wls Patients

I work in a hospital and we had a new admission. I was assigned to that patient but I overheard the nurses talking crap about patients with WLS and how lazy they are! The big nurses were saying how they rather die fat than get WLS and have complications in the future. Well I felt bad for this poor patient.... She didn't even know what was being said of her, and she's to trust these women with her life? It hurt me as well!!! They don't know I had sleeve done and this jus why I kept it a secret with my coworkers! I went home Feeling rather depressed. How do you all handle these type of peeps?

I agree with Gman. If nurses were talking crap about someone because of their religion or color, you'd be reporting that nurse to the hospital administration in a heartbeat. I think the same should be done for this case because it could seriously undermine the care this patient gets. HIPPA laws should come into play here as well. You're not allowed to discuss a patient's medical history or care in a public area, period. Why is it okay to discuss openly that this patient has had WLS? Would it be okay if the patient had stomach cancer or HIV or heart disease?

I'm not normally reactionary about stuff like this, but these people are the ones who we are entrusting our lives to on a daily basis. IMO, it's totally wrong for them to hold any medical procedure up to ridicule.

People like your co-workers are why many WLS patients want to hide their surgery from friends, family and co-workers. I'm totally open about my WLS, and I hope that my being up front about it will help to reduce the stigma for those who choose WLS in the future.