Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Need information! Good and bad please!

Hi all,

I have been an "arm chair" observer in your forum ever since a friend (physician) confessed that her weight loss was not due to the traditional methods I had assumed. She spoke freely about her experience and surgery in Mexico. Ever since then, I have been curious about the sleeve.

A little back ground...I am 47 and had two children later in life (at the age of 39 and 42). I have been a yoyo dieter, and have achieved my goal weight (within a few pounds) several times by strict exercise, Jenny Craig, WW, etc. I am about 50 or 60 pounds overweight with a BMI of 32 or 33. I do not have any "co-morbidity risks" and I exercise frequently.. I am also a veterinarian with a strong background in surgery. But I think I am becoming a wimpy patient in my old age..LOL...I'm fine with performing a surgery but not so keen on being on the receiving end of things..:) I would love to finally be in a position where my obesity doesn't

shadow my whole life. I could probably lose the weight through exercise and diet, but am confident I would eventually gain it back

unless I quit my job.

That said, I have LOTS of questions. I know that answering these forums takes time. (so as a payback feel free to PM any dog or cat quesitons you may have and I will do my best to answer them.)

So here are my questions:

1. Why isn't the surgery more well known? In this day of paprazzi/etc. I've never heard of a celebrity having this. And they have more pressure to be thin. Is it more common than the public knows?

2. Since I am considering the surgery, but have a lower BMI, would any US doctor perform this surgery for me if I paid out of pocket? I just worry about surgical follow-ups in the US. if I do it in Mexico.

3. I'd love a realistic idea of pain involved post-op. Is it an ache? Please describe. Some have said it is excruciating while others said a mere inconvenience.