Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

The first month after the surgery----I need answers

I am a high school football coach and I am getting the sleeve on July 26. I am scheduled to begin practices on Aug. 9th. I am trying to get an idea of what my condition will be like. Can anyone help me with these questions--

1. How many days after the surgery will I feel pain and how intense is it?

2. Will I be able to walk around the first few days?

3. How weak will I feel during the 2 week liquids only period post-op?

I'm 2 weeks out of the hospital for Gastric Sleeve. I had it on the 29th of June. I am still feeling some slight pain when I move certain ways, and some dizzyness when I am in humidity or excessive heat.

My pain didn't stop being constant until about a week ago. But I can't sit in certain positions, and laughing hurts.

The only time my pain is real intense is when I sit too long. Then it feels like my skin is ripping apart.

I was up walking around the day of my surgery, but not a lot. Every four hours to be exact. My doctor wanted me to be mobile as much as possible, but if I get tired or dizzy to sit down and relax for a bit.

The liquid diet has been a big difficulty for me. My mother also had the surgery and she didn't seem to have as much trouble as me, so its basically a case by case thing. I don't feel weak at all, but its mentally draining. Mentally I'm starving but physically I don't feel any hunger at all.

Hope that helps and GOOD LUCK!!!

Edited by Emma2389

I can only speak from my own experience..... and i'm almost a month out.

1. i felt minimal pain for about 3-4 days. it wasn't major. in fact, i never took any pain meds.

2. yes, you should be able to walk around. i was up walking around just a few hrs after surgery. i came home the day after surgery and walked around even more. just listen to your body - rest when you feel like you need to. walking helps with gas pains too (if you have them)