Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

*SCARED* I have a stretched pouch...

:help: I went in for a fill today and the woman told me that my pouch was stretched...then she told me it was no big deal. I asked if it would go back and she said not without a total unfill...then I would gain. She told me it was not necessary and sent me on my way like everything was ok. I need more information...this can't be as simple as she made it out to be. What did I do to myself (ok I know I overate) but what are the effects?

...Malice...:help:

I am no medical professional. However, I have had slippage and been re-banded and it was speculated my pouch was distended. As it turned out, mine was clearly a slippage instead, but I was told at first that I needed to be totally unfilled to allow the pouch to move back down. In my opinion, SHE SHOULD NOT have put a fill on top of this problem. You have lots of time to lose weight. a few weeks unfilled seems far better than getting a fill on top of a distended pouch. I'd ask the doctor and state your concerns. Remember, this is not a race, there is no hurry. The health of your band and your esophagus is far more important. Just my opinion!

Is this woman an RN, or a nurse practicioner? I agree that she should not have filled you on top of a dilated pouch/esophagus. Over-eating is the usual cause, but being too tight can cause it, too. Sometimes just a partial unfill will fix the problem. Talk to your doctor.

Yes nurse practiioner, but she is also head of the fills i believe. She told me that my stomach would not go back unless I had an unfill but I had nothing to worry about...i knew this didn't sound right. Anymore thoughts, anyone have this same experience. Just a bit panicked...

A question for all. How much do you have to overeat to have the puch stretched?

I was way to full yesterday and panicked too.

Malice, I hope you get answers, I would go for the unfill rather than risk re-surgery or losing the band.

Leener,