Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

To Tell Or Not To Tell About Lap Band ???

I have been pretty private with the decision to have the Lapband. My husband, parents, sister and best friend were all that knew I was even thinking about it, and other than a co-worker, know that I am having it done in February. I own a two-family home, and my brother and sister in-law live downstairs, and who are both very overweight. We always joke about out weight and out horrible eating habits, but she has noticed that I have had a lot of appointments lately, and have changed my usually over-eating ways. I am very close with my sister in-law, and I want to tell her, but I am afraid of what her reaction will be. She could either be really supportive? Or she can be kinda negative, or even worse compete with me and go for it too. She always said she felt like we were always so close because we are heavy. I don't want that anymore, ya know? Am I making sense?

At work, I am a teacher surrounded by men and women who are tiny. I am very tall and very overweight. I would love to have someone to talk to about this in the lunch room, or have them stop asking if I want another chocolate. They won't understand, and I just feel like this is so private for me still. Anyone else feel that way? That is such a private thing that they don't want people to know about? :(

Really? even worse competing with you? My husband and I are both doing it together. I am a bit more obessed with it than me. I am always on here and talking to him about it. I am grateful that I have resources and support. I think that including her you may find it great to have a close supportive person to share this journey with you. Don't think of it as competition but more as support. That goes both ways because you can be the same for her.