Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Does anyone take Alli with meals? Seems like it would help if anything with fat is eaten. Thanks.

I have never tried it but I did consider before banding. A lot of people said they found success with it.

However, I decided once I was banded that I will not take diet control supplements on top of being banded. Eating healthy is my focus and I have taken the four letter word "diet" out of my vocabulary.

I made the same decision you did, Heather. Except I don't really have restriction yet and it's hard not to call what I'm doing "dieting"... but I'm hoping that once I feel some restriction I will just make healthy choices, eat my meals and not obsess on it.

I tried Alli but never used it consistently enough to get any results. I had some left over after being banded and I offered it to my sister, but she'd tried it and found she was really sensitive to it, it had her running to the bathroom (and not always making it in time) even if she ate just a small amount of fat. So she said, anyway. So we tossed it.

It probably can't hurt if you want to give it a try.

My only concern is that Alli can also absorb nutrients, so with the reduced food intake you want to keep all the nutrients you can. I would advise you to ask the doctor about it first. You don't want to lose any hair or have dry skin. :)

I am not a very good pill taker, so Alli was never a good option for me. I cut out almost all of the fat from my diet and it still had me running to the bathroom . .. and it was NOT pretty. So, since the side effects were gross anyways, I decided that it was probably a good thing that I forgot to take my pills.

My sister takes them and she seems to have good results with them.

For me . . . I got my one true ally . . . my band. I'm done with pills. Now I try to remember to take my liquid Vitamin and I'm working hard at eating right and exercising.