Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

What do you hate most about teachers?

I am a teacher. I am tired of parents complaining. You cannot please all the parents in your class. Why are so many people down on teachers and why do you get angry with the teacher before you even find out the whole story?

You can answer if you choose.

List what you hate about teachers, please use reason.

List what you love about teachers, if you do.

I'm a fellow teacher (I teach university biology), so take this with a grain of salt...

Things about GOOD teachers that I love:

willingness to help

knowledge of the material

the way they care for their students

willingness to learn different teaching methods for different students

Things about BAD teachers that I hate:

ignorance of the material

picking and choosing what to teach (my high school bio teacher absolutely REFUSED to teach evolution)

giving busy-work that doesn't actually teach anything

inability to control a class

favoritism towards certain students

Being an almost teacher myself, I can honestly say I've never had a real gripe about any of my kids teachers. Its hard work and its doubly hard to treat with respect and fairness kids who push your buttons when you have no emotional connection to them in the way you do your own kids.

But I admire teachers who realise that their expected or desired outcomes are not everybody's desired outcomes.

When I first began studying to be a teacher, I was 36, so old enough to have some life experience. Yet I still focussed on my own upbringing, priveledged white middle class, privately educated, now stay at home mother with a six figure family income. I was motivated to teach when I left school but the employment marked in 1985 in Victoria was abysmal, so I didnt do it - and lucky because I would have sucked at it as a 19 year old.