Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hello, all! I’m Alice, and I’ve just discovered this app! I’ve just begun my bariatric visits and am so excited to be on this journey.

What I say next might surprise you:

I’m 19 years old with a BMI of 62.5.

Sometimes I can’t help but ask: how did it get this way? I’ve been overweight all my life but at this level, its hard to imagine any life at all. It’s very difficult for me to walk much, which poses an issue with the fact I work in retail.

I heard about this surgery (the gastric sleeve) from a close family member, and was so excited! I understand this surgery is not meant to be a “quick fix,” but rather, allows the patient to lose with ease and get a jump start on their new life.

While I’m very excited, I must admit I’m a bit nervous for this whole experience. I’m the type of person who avoids going to the doctors at all costs, and now I’ll be seeing them at minimum once a month. Any tips for a beginner?

I'm not great at the whole rah-rah, we're all in this together, positive thoughts, you'll do great stuff. I'm 110% pragmatic. But given your age, what I can offer is this:

• You can't be afraid to ask questions of anyone, particularly the doctors.
  • Do not just sit and nod when the doctor tells you something you're not 100% certain about: Repeat it back to him/her.
  • Be your own advocate. You have to own this whole process. Success or failure is all on you.
  • Do your own research on reliable medical websites and make sure you and the doctor are on the same page.
  • Do not read anecdotes here or hear stories from family and friends and accept them as fact.
  • Do not get paranoid if you read about problems some people report here and think you're going to have the same problems.