Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

1. A coworker had the surgery 6 weeks ago, and she has been cheering me on since she found out why I was drinking "premier protein" shakes. During an oversharing confession session one day in my office, I told her that I was worried about what some people were going to say about me having surgery rather than losing weight "The natural way." How are people dealing with the criticism and the inaccurate thoughts that surgery is the EASY way out?

2. You see, I've vacillated for 2 years now, losing 15 pounds in the bariatric program only to gain it back. --and I've been fighting this battle for 20 years almost to the day! I'm tired and worn down, suffering from the daily pain of RA and Lupus now. Plus I am frightened that I will gain the weight back if I lose it...that the reasons that I gained this 130 pounds will continue to haunt me even after the surgery.

3. It seems that I don't have the self-caring any longer (and that I haven't in such a long time); I'm certainly no longer trying to be thin and sexy to catch a man at age 52! What are your motivations?

Any thoughts on the above???

Deborah

Fortunately, I haven't found the need to explain or justify my decision to have surgery to anyone.

If "the natural way" doesn't work for you then it doesn't work. No need to apologize.

I felt the same way for a very long time. I started gaining weight after my baby was born, I now weigh 30 lbs more than I did at my highest during pregnancy. I tried everything I could think of, even hiring a personal trainer. After a year of trying everything I could think of and seeing no results but instead gaining more weight and feeling miserable I decided to have the surgery.