Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I'm just beginning the whole process, so bare with me. And I know this sounds really stupid and am completely aware of how bad this is for me...but:) My biggest concern about having surgery is drinking after. I don't drink on a daily or even weekly basis, but probably 4 times per year have a day long binge social drinking activity ( tailgating, camping, a winter festival we go to etc). Usually is beer or hard cider and we drink a lot. Am I still going to be able to do that? It's really my only time to see my friends due to distance and children etc. Any thoughts?

Sent from my iPhone using the BariatricPal App

I know for me... If I have a drink, my weight loss stalls. I never lose. Doesn't mean I don't have a drink now and then but if I do.. I know what to expect.

Beer and anything else with carbonation is probably not a good idea.

I'm only 21+ months post-VSG, so understand I'm coming at this with that kind of WLS resume.

Anyway, here's my take on your quarterly binge-drinking escapades.

I will bet you aren't going to drink NEARLY as much as you used to drink at these events. You'll likely be more alcohol-sensitive, and I'm betting that your natural self-protective instincts will kick in and keep you from over-doing it, especially since you're not a regular drinker.

However, and this is the good part, I don't think that drinking less would / could / should harsh your party buzz at all. More good news is you'll be with friends who won't be trying to harm you. Or I hope they won't.

I think the important thing to ask yourself is -- could I still have a good time if I have 3 drinks over X hours instead of 12 drinks?

Imma bet you could. :)