Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Trying to find the courage to start over.

Hello, this is my first time posting on BP. I am 48 years old and had my lapband in 2008. I lost almost 100 lbs over the span of a year. I kept it off for 4 years. In April of 2012 my 8 month old grandson was killed (homocide) and it really sent me into a downward spiral. I was so busy with court and keeping my family from falling to pieces that I got lost somewhere in the shuffle. I really have gotten off track and don't know how to find my way back. I pray, take my antidepressants and have finally gotten to a fairly good place emotionally. However I look in the mirror and am disgusted by all of my hard work and lifestyle change being wasted. I have an appointment for April 4th with my lapband surgeon but am terrified of going back to him. I have failed miserably by gaining most of my weight back. I really need advice from you all. I need ideas for jump-starting my weightloss so I can feel good physically and mentally. It seems like a mountain I don't know if I can climb again. Help please.

I'm so sorry about the tragic loss of your grandson. That you spiraled off track is completely understandable and maybe even expected. There is no need to be negative about yourself. It means something important that you now want to take control again.

There's also no need to fear going back to your surgery practice. Like you, I undid most of my good work and, as soon as I get a better handle on a few other, major things that need my attention, I will make an appointment. I've always told people who've lost their way that the surgery staff has seen and heard it all before. They want us to succeed and will always welcome us with encouragement. Make the appointment, see the dietitian, have an esophagram to be check that your band is in good shape and position, have an adjustment if indicated and build a support network. Track your food and start an exercise routine.