Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hello! Newbie here!

Hello! My name is Lupe and I am from Ventura, California. I am pre-op with a surgery date of March 16th. I am having surgery with Dr. Chen at UCLA. I am still undecided on the type of surgery I am getting. My surgeon said I would be a good candidate for the sleeve but he said the bypass is also ok with him. I have met two people who personally have done the Sleeve and did not have great results with weight reduction. I also have two friends that had the bypass who are both struggling. One with transfer addictions and the other with anorexia. I am trying to learn as much about the process as I can. The good, bad and ugly.

Look forward to getting to know everyone. I am happy and scared about this journey.

As backwards as this may seem, as I am learning to prep my body the hardest thing is eating 6 times a day. I am typically someone who doesn't eat in the morning and find myself having a really late (3-4pm) lunch and late (7-8pm) dinner. Changing that and forcing myself to eat smaller meals/snacks several times a day has been hard for sure! But I'm getting there! My Water intake is getting better too!

Warmly,

Lupe Lane

(Picture is of me and my support team. Hubby & 4 children)

post-270260-14532684082592_thumb.jpg

Hi Lupe, glad to hear you are considering this. I got a sleeve done in October and it was the greatest thing I have ever done. It has literally saved my life and I feel 100 % better than before, more energy and I am told I look better. I think so too.

You will here some people saying that they regret having done this.....don't take it too seriously without reading WHY. I think there might be other issues at hand. Most people I hear about or talk rave about what this has done for them. I have nothing but positive things to say about it.

Those other issues MUST be dealt with before this will work for anybody, I think that is why some writers seem so very negative.