Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Post-Op problems with (some) carbs, questions!

So, I am sure it's been discussed quite a bit about carbs/breads etc after surgery.

I understand it's not uncommon to have issues with these kinds of foods post-op. I was sleeved July 29th, and I seem to have problems with breat/wheat type stuff. I don't know about rice (haven't tried it yet), and I am ok with potatoes (but don't eat them much, and only a teeny bit when I do).

For me, it feels like I have been punched in the gut.

What I am wondering is:

1) does anyone know if this does damage to the body if you eat it (I am still new to this discovery, and sometimes make stupid mistakes)?

2) Also, does anyone know if using gluten free products (like bread, etc) would make a difference?

I'm just thinking about trying to limit my "restriction". Trying to find ways to normalize myself. I'd like to be able to occasionally (and I mean every couple of months, not a couple times a week) have a burger without it hurting, or have half a piece of toast with my egg.

So, does anyone have any input?

Thanks!!

My NUT says toasting the bread changes the molecular structure and makes it more tolerable for the tummy. I abstain from all breads and rice, I just don't want the empty calories and I was a carbaholic before so that is a slippery slope for me so I choose to be free of temptation. I still eat burgers just no bun.

I don't think there is any "damage" to the body per se but the bread can turn into a dough ball and cause major discomfort.

Good luck with your choices!

@@ShrinkingPeach

I was mostly a carbaholic when it came to baking/sweets. I have some rice wraps I am hoping to use for "sandwiches" or tacos, which are only 35 calories each, and 8g of carb (I would probably have to cut one into 3 meals at this point). Again, not an every day thing, but just once in a while.

I have certainly felt the discomfort! No fun (and that's probably a good thing).