Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I went to see the doctor November 4th 2014. The doctor thinks I'm a perfect canidate for the sleeve. But even though I am 5 foot 3 and weigh 230 pounds now, my insurance won't approve me because I have not been diagnosed with any co-morbidities. (I am pre-diabetic, my blood pressure is a little high but no medication, and my cholesterol is a little high again no medication) I have been doing Weight Watchers for 3 years and have been loosing and gaining to same 15-20 pounds. My BMI has been over 35 for those 3 years but has only been over 40 for a few months. So I either have to stay at this weight for 2 years or I just went for sleep apnea test and if thats positive then I have to stay above 35 BMI and have sleep apnea for 2 years to get approved. It's just so frustrating because I obviously can't loose this weight and keeep it off on my own. So it looks like I may qualify for surgery by October 2016 . OK I'm done complaining :)

@@wildflowergirl Just a suggestion--have you thought about appealing? Explain all that and see what they say - the worst they can do is say no again -- but it might be enough, along w/a letter from your doctor, to have them approve -- best of luck!

I did try appeal no go :( but I'm determined and I know it will work out it just may take a while.

If you haven't already, take steps to avoid going from pre-diabetes to diabetes. That's the point in which the islet cells in your pancreas can't keep up and half of them die, not producing insulin. If you are able to, you might avoid this by exercising aerobically for an hour a day. It reduces you chance of getting it by 80%. If you don't feel that you know enough about your diet and possibly avoiding diabetes, I suggest you go to a diabetic nutritionist.

The dr can do a peer to peer appeal and speak with the dr at the insurance company that denied your request