Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Just beginning - so confused.

Hello everyone,

I am just beginning on this journey. I started my supervised diet last week. I'm not doing very well. Although I want this more than anything, I'm sabatoging myself. Ugh! I hate my head sometimes!

Anyway, I have three months on this supervised diet. I need to get on track. I just don't know how right now. Any words of wisdom?

I have not made a doctor's appointment yet but I will very soon. I am turning 65 next month and my insurance will change to a medicare advantage at that time. My current insurance won't cover anything that relates to weight loss. I attended a seminar at Wheaton Franciscan in Milwaukee and I am pretty sure I will go with them. They are a Center of Excellence. I'm thinking that means that they are one of the best, is that true?

I just ordered the Bariatric Sleeve book and will read it from cover to cover.

I think I am having trouble getting started because I am really scared of the permenance of the whole process. I'm afraid it won't work for me or I won't be able to handle it. I'm afraid I'll be a failure just like I have always been. I am 4' 10" tall and weigh 267 lbs. I have always felt like a failure in this area and have hated myself most of my life. I read this board every night and, even though many of you talk about problems and setbacks, you seem to keep going. I applaud that courage. I just don't know if I have that in me. Some days I feel ok and other days I am terrified and tell myself I can't do it.

I'm sorry to ramble like this. I just feel so lost right now. I could use some honest feedback.

Thanks

I too wondered if I would be the one person WLS would not work for. After years of trying all the "miracle" pills that promised weight loss if I only took this one, it was hard to believe that surgery would work for me.