Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hello everyone -- AF vet here

Hi,

Thought I'd get a head start on this forum. I am an AF vet -- military police (security forces) -- and always thought that my weight loss success was in my own hands. I've just recently come to the conclusion that this is one battle I can't overcome by myself, no matter how hard I try. Thus the appointment I just made to have lap band surgery.

I am also a member on other veteran's forums, and have worked around the VA (and gotten healthcare there) for several years now. I look forward to meeting you and hearing your stories. I checked with the VA, but at least in Colorado, they have no benefits/schedule for weight loss surgery, so I'm funding this one myself. I have been through the VA MOVE (Motivating Obese Veterans Everywhere) twice, with no success. Fun fact: my supervisor at the VA had the Lap Band procedure several years ago with great success, and referred me to my current physician, who is also a veteran and a graduate of the Air Force Academy.

I'm hoping I get my life back, so to speak, and hoping that this is a new start for me. I am married to another AF veteran -- who has just tipped the scales at 270 lbs -- but since he is on blood thinners for life, he is weary of any surgical procedure. I will see how it goes with me, and perhaps he will be open to something similar in the future.

I look forward to meeting you all and sharing this journey together.

Congratulations....if everyone had the ability to manage their own weight, then there would not be a need for this surgery, and none of us would be here....

There are many things I am strong enough to do....but controlling my eating, (I love food) and the ability to diet and loose it myself, is not one of them.....I needed surgery....

And the surgery did for me what I was incapable of doing...and it did work, I have lost all my excess weight/body fat.....