Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

How can I give up my addiction and adhere to the strict diet?

I am new to GBT, in the research stage. I have had a LapBand in me since '07, unfilled. I am well educated about what the diet is for the Band, but am currently eating whatever I feel like. I've been told to try RNY by several people. I have about 130#'s to lose to be an average weight. ** I have yet to find someone who admits they are deeply addicted to food and the action of doing it, for coping reasons. Sure, people say they understand, or feel the same way, but they don't. ** I suffer from Chronic Depression, a Dissociative Disorder, PTSD and Borderline Personality Disorder. In therapy, on meds. Normal to the people who are not in the therapist's office or home to see the real me. I, am addicted to food to cure the bad and Celebrate the good and more. I am terrified to the point of flaring up my relatively controlled disorders. I can't afford to do that. ** I am the mirror of an alcoholic, the narcotic addiction sufferer's, a cigarette smoker, though I don't do any of those things. What I DO do is feel and live the torture of giving up my "high". I have been to OA but I won't comment on that, I tried to tackle my addictive disorder with my therapist, but she doesn't "get it" all. I come here, to you, hoping against all hope I can read those words that really hit the spot, here on GBT. I know many of you suffer from emotional/addictive/habitual and binge eating. Come to me. I need to understand why I won't take care of this body I'm in. I hate it. Tell me how you got yourself to adhere to such a limited diet. Tell me how you came to love yourself enough to succeed in RNY. I am of an alternative religion, please don't tell me to give it to God. I have to do this, me, myself and I. I am responsible for what I've done to myself and I am also responsible to overcome my addiction. But YOU did it, tell me how. Tell me anything.....post-208149-138131348219