Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I'm the new guy and telling my story

Hello every one, my name is Kevin and I'm new to this site and my surgery will be September 11th, 2013. I will give you a little background on myself. I'm 41 years and married and together we have 5 children ages 7 - 18 and we live in Wisconsin. I have been overweight my entire life, I have never experienced what if feels like to be "skinny" nor do I ever expect too. As an adult and getting heavier, weight has always been an issue. I worked as an active paramedic for over twenty years now and love EMS. I currently work in a small rural hospital as the ER & Trauma Coordinator and I'm also the Director of Informatics for our electronic health record. In my "spare" time, I also teach EMS for one of the technical colleges and I'm going back to school myself. Being overweight makes everything so much more difficult and now that I'm over 40, I must get healthier if I want to survive and enjoy the second half of my life. At my heaviest weight I weighed approximately 435lbs and this was back in approximately 2004. I looked into bariatric surgery then and jumped through all of the hoops only to be denied by my insurance company 2 times and could not get the surgery. I was at the end of my rope and need to make a change so I tried the low carb diet which actually was a life saver for me. Over the next year I had lost over 140lbs and was feeling so much better, but as soon as I got off track and didn't stay committed, I started to regain the weight. I gained about 100lbs back. a few years later I went back to low carb and lost another 150 lbs and again feeling better until life happens and I lose focus. I again gained over 100 lbs back. Currently I weigh about 350lbs. My current job switched insurance companies about 2 years ago and they did have a benefit for bariatric surgery so for the past year I have been going through the process to get approved. I started in September of 2012 and