Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

How Did I Get To This Point?

Sign in to follow this  

I'm not sure if this is where I start the posts. This is my first time starting a group.

My BMI was 34 when I had my surgery. How did I get to this point? I never had to worry about my weight when I was younger. And I'm talking 15 years ago. At 44 yrs old. Then, I started paying less attention to what I was putting in my mouth, and not exercising. I knew that I was putting on weight, but never really saw myself as big as I was. Clothes got tighter, but I kept saying "I'll start my diet Monday". Then Monday came, and I felt deprived if I couldn't eat the foods I wanted. My comforting friend. I couldn't lose that friend. I could lose 20 lbs, but only to put them back on. My motivation faded whenever there was an opportunity to go out and eat and drink with friends. We are social people. So here I am now -----needing to lose 60 lbs. But I decided to do something for myself, for me! I know this is drastic, but necessary.

I am RIGHT THERE with you! I keep questioning my own sanity for even considering this, but the reality is I've failed every time I've tried - call it laziness or lack of willpower or whatever - but I see this as a tool to help me succeed. Where are you gonna go for surgery?? I'm so glad to find this group!!!! :)