Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

My Family Freeked Out When I Told Them I'm Getting Gastric Sleeve Surgery

I told my wife and daughter I was planing to get weight loss surgery in Mexico and my daughter stopped talking to me and my wife said I was taken the ease way out and I was going to fail. How can I get them to support me.

I'm a over the road truck driver 6' 4" and 355 lbs.BMI 44.4. I have an enlarge hart, high cholesterol and high blood pressure. With all the changes happening in the trucking industry I my not be able to keep my job or at lease be able to get hired if I loose my currant job. They don't understand.

Im sorry to hear that your family doesn't understand your reasoning. But the easy way out would be to continue to do nothing about your health! I work in a hospital helping patients file for disability which is a huge reason I elected surgery. Sure, your family is concerned for you, but explain to them how this is a step into taking control of your health to be around longer! Many of the people I see at work are normal, everyday working people that started out with high blood pressure, high cholesterol, or diabetes and then it spirals out of control and they suffer a stroke, heart attack, or worse. Its sad. They suffer alot and many times can not return to their jobs or even live withour assistance. And it doesn't only affect the elderly, often times it is young people as well. Im very passionate about this because of my work. I used to not care about my health until I saw the downside of not taking care of one's self. Please talk with your family. I wish you the best.

welcome.gifhi candyman

i'm so sorry you haven't gotten the immediate support from your wife and daughter that you need and deserve... Hopefully they will come around sooner than later.

All of us sleevers discuss frequently that this is not the "easy way out". People should know how hard this really is, the self-control etc.