Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

See's Candy...........big Mistake!

So, I'm still new to Sleeve eating and I took a big stumble last night...........

I should preface this by saying that I have been 99% compliant since day 1 (a cup of coffee and a few sips of wine account for the 1% !) Yesterday, I had my usual Protein Drink for Breakfast and some cottage cheese and cucumber for lunch. I wasn't very interested in dinner, but I was very interested in the box of See's candy that's been in our house since last week. I figured "No dinner, one piece of candy - what's the big deal?" .........Okay, one piece turned into three and I felt guilty, but it was just one (little) slip.

About 20 minutes later, my body went into full-on "sugar-shock." My heart started to pound, I got dizzy and weak, and broke out sweating profusely............. It was not good. I had to lie down for about 1/2 hour until the room stopped spinning. My stomach didn't hurt and I didn't throw up, but I never want to repeat that feeling again! I was a very big sugar eater before my sleeve and I've never reacted to it like that before. When I felt a little better, I sipped a Protein Drink, hoping to counter-act the damage.

I'll tell you, last night was enough to keep my fingers out of the candy box for the rest of the holidays!

I had something similar happen with a Reese's Peanut Butter cup. I thought I was going to faint. Bad feeling. It was effective though. I have not had one since!

Good to know!!! Being a 'chocoholic' I'm storing this information for later! (55 days, 19 hours and 34 minutes to go til surgery, but who's counting??)

You are not alone in the slip or the reaction!