Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Time off After Sleeve Surgery

Hello everyone,

I am scheduled to have my sleeve in September with Dr. Aceves. I have read that most people are different in taking time off, depending on how they feel, etc. I have taken 2 weeks of vacation off from my job, however I have short term disability insurance and they told me that if the doctor says I need more time off, etc that I will be paid for up to a year. (This is good to know, god forbid if any complications happen, etc.) What I wanted to know is, if you werent in a rush to return to work, what reasonable amount of time do you think would be appropriate to take off. I am thinking more along the lines of 4 weeks to allow my body to heal, learn how to eat, etc. Also, for those of you that used Dr. Aceves, do you all think that he would sign my form for me to get 4 weeks off? Im not trying to abuse time off but I work as a nurse and I also work long days and the demands of the job can be very challenging, I just dont want to push myself (especially since my job understands that I am having some type of surgery, they wont fire me or anything like that--of course they cant anyway but im just curious to get some responses.

Thanks a million everyone

If PTO time hadn't been an issue for me, I probably would have taken 2 full weeks off instead of having surgery on Friday and returning the following Friday. I think it would have given my body more time to adjust to having had surgery and the change in eating styles, etc. That said, I also have a desk job that doesn't require any long hours or OT unless I so choose (or we're in trial). I think if you can take 4 weeks off paid, then go for it, given the type of job you do. Congrats Shanda on getting your surgery date.