Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I can't afford a new wardrobe every month

I'm newly banded:thumbup:, only 6 days out, but I am starting to wonder the best way to go about clothes when I start changing sizes. When I am home, I don't mind just wearing oversized shirts and PJs and stuff but I am going to start working in a few months and I can't afford to buy so many clothes in every size.

How do most people do this? So far, I have decided I will probably buy dresses so they can fit me through a few sizes but are there any other ideas? :thumbup:

I think I might start scouting the thrift stores now and just pick up anything I see that's nice and work appropriate if it's in a size that's anywhere between my current size and goal size.

I feel you on this one! :thumbup: As an attorney, I have to be in professional wear everyday and it gets expensive..so, I have taken to dresses and skirts as they look less baggy as I go down. I had a couple of my newest pants taken in, as it made the suits last a bit longer for far less than replacing. I've also become a rabid ebayer and snatch up deals for where I am and down one.....I make sure that whatever I get can be worn repeatedly without much notice..lots of neutrals that can be jazzed with a scarf or pin to make it seem different. My "causal" clothes situation is a mess....i only have two things that don't look like a complete sack but am too frugal to spend for weekend gardening clothes. Good luck and enjoy...its much better to have to shop for a size smaller than a size up!