Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hello. My name is Tessa and I am a newbie to BariatricPal.

My sleeve was 6/12/15. So I am currently 4 weeks post op.

Things were going great until I introduced soft foods this week. I'm up 5 pounds since my weigh in Thursday.

I don't understand. I'm eating SMALLER. Why am I gaining? I understand that eating and drinking to together will do that. I wait 20 minutes after drinking and wait 30 after eating to drink again.

Could it be the sodium? Not all of my food is low in sodium. I have been so hungry that I haven't cared to check.

Could it be sugar? I drink 98% Water but will have organic lemonade every once in a while.

Please help. I am having major regrets about this surgery. I didn't have it to still gain weight. It is so depressing.

Thanks,

Tessa

Even though I'm banded Tessa, I'm responding because I can understand your concerns. Let me assure you that after introducing food after what I presume has so far been a liquid diet will absolutely cause a weight gain. Please remember that this is a lifetime change and gains and stalls are just part of it. You didn't gain the weight overnight and you won't lose it that way either.

You should pay attention to sodium and sugar as too much can cause weight gain. But some salt and sugar won't derail you. The only thing that will derail you is worrying about every loss and gain.

Do yourself a favor and stay away from the scale. Just pay attention to what you are eating. Choose wisely...protein first and watch the carbs, sugar, and sodium. Exercise. Move around. It will make you feel like you accomplished something and will improve your mood.