Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Diabetic and High blood pressure, off meds?

I am a newbie and I love reading our stories. Yes, and your pictures. I take insulin and two other shots. I take high blood pressure meds., and arthritis. I would live to hear from those who have been able to stop those meds. This is the reason I have scheduled surgery July 9. And I am very, very, nervous.

Thanks beautiful people.

They briefly took me off of my blood pressure meds for like two months. But my blood pressure shot right back up and I'm back on them again. They say a sleeved stomach CAN cause your blood pressure to lower, but it doesn't for everyone... my surgery involves a sleeved stomach btw. I never had arthritis issues so I can't help you with that, but I DO have back issues due to a permanent injury to my back and a suspected slipped disc (that I haven't been able to get an MRI of because my insurance requires physical therapy that I can't do because it inflames my permanent injury... -_-") and I've had less issues with the suspected slipped disc with my weight loss, but it hasn't helped with my permanent injury (no surprise though on that front). I never had diabetes, but I've had issues with hypoglycemic 'incidents' since I was a teen. I have to make sure I eat at LEAST six times a day and not skip meals and have a carb minimum of 15 carbs per meal or snack because of the hypoglycemic issues I've had in the past. But, I FEEL better.

And it's perfectly normal to be nervous about your upcoming surgery. I was somewhat nervous about it as well. Not the surgery itself, but how I'd feel when I woke up. Honestly though, compared to another surgery I had this was a walk in the park!