Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Top Recommendation from VGS people 6mos out or more

I am new to the bariatricpal site and the forums on VGS. I start my two week before surgery low cal plan on May 27, 2019.

I'm asking to hear from those who have been through the surgery and are at least 6mos out from the surgery date. Name your top recommendation for me as I start this process and dramatic life change with VGS? Thanks for sharing your wisdom.

Edited by NatalieJoy

I had the lap band and now I'm waiting for my last appointment. The number one thing to remember is food is not everything. I lost over 100 pounds by making food only about nutrition. If the bad stuff is not in the house you won't eat it. If you feel like an indulgence break a small piece and suck it to death. Eat slowly I mean really slow. If you can't get up and walk around between bites. Only put in your mouth something worthy of the privilege of making you happy. Most of the stuff I used to eat is what I refer to throw-away food. Do not be hard on yourself, you will have slips. Now, something I had to happen is when I tripped I fell. I think it was because my new body had a different balance. My stomach growled forever it seemed. That did not mean I was hungry, it was just rebelling. If you think you are hungry, drink Water and say if I really am hungry I'll eat in 30 minutes. Usually, I didn't eat. Good luck and keep us updated!

I am only 4 months out, but I would highly suggest giving up your addictions Pre-op so you don't have to fight them post-op. Sugar, soda, caffeine, processed foods, etc. It is hard enough getting through the surgery and immediate post op without having to deal with headaches and cravings. give yourself a jump start by getting rid of this stuff before hand,