Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Feeling Guilty: Who's life do I save? Mine or my daughters?

So I just started this journey last week. I'm 55 with a 46 BMI. Sigh. How did this happen? I work in a hospital that has a Bariatric Center of Excellence accreditation weight loss program with a wonderful surgeon. My children are grown and I've run out of excuses to get my weight under control. So I did the first hard thing you have to do and that is make the first appointment. Boy are things moving fast now! Some of my fears are being alleviated and I'm coming to terms that this is what I must do in order to get healthy.

BUT my concern is my daughter. She is a very beautiful, bright 21 year old college student who with all of the stress over the past 3 years has really put on an extensive amount of weight. She is so unhappy with her self. She tries everything only to fail. She is so miserable and I cannot stand seeing her in so much pain. Financially as a college student she cannot afford the procedure and unfortunately I cannot afford it for both of us.

I feel so selfish. I know it is going to be painful for her watching the weight come off of me and her not having the tools she needs to help herself. She has her life ahead of her and mine is half over. I'm almost to the point of offering up the option to her instead and paying for her to get the help she needs.

I'm really torn. It's like "who's life do you save? Yours or your daughters?" I am at a loss and I'm hurting too.

Neither of you have insurance that can cover the procedure? Perhaps she can get insurance. Maybe you can self pay for both of you in Mexico (or even another state, it varies a lot from state to state) or use a financing plan to borrow the money. Good luck.