Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

OMG... I know I will have to start Puree diet at some point....YUK

Hi everyone, I am having my gastric bypass surgery 3/7/16 ...(this Monday)... and am trying to learn everything I can. I can't believe the day is here.! Well have been going over the various phases if the gastric bypass diet and am having a real problem anticipating the Puree diet.

You see I am a nurse of 35 yrs, predominantly in the emergency room but I can still remember vividly my time on a medical ward. There we used to do long term care of the patients and the population was geriatrics. I remember feeding the patients puree diets and almost got sick to my stomach many times. The smell, consistency, and texture was nasty, especially the pureed liver.

I have been reading up on different foods ppl are eating and blending, and I just don't think I can do it. I'll get sick. I know some of you may laugh at this or say "get over it and do it) I'm trying to keep an open mind but I think I'll stick to the shakes, cottage cheese, yogurt and creamed Soups, but when it come to blending eggs, meats, tuna and fish I think back to my experience with puree food and my stomach swirls.

Does anyone have the same experience, I will discuss with my Doc and nutritionist but was wanting some feedback from the community.

TY

:)

Hi everyone, I am having my gastric bypass surgery 3/7/16 ...(this Monday)... and am trying to learn everything I can. I can't believe the day is here.! Well have been going over the various phases if the gastric bypass diet and am having a real problem anticipating the Puree diet.