Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

What do you love about your new personality?

It's true we all change over the years, just by life experiences. Weight loss surgery is a huge life changer and the further out you are the more you can change. You learn so many things, especially if you are deep into the WLS support community.

What is it about your inner self that you are proud to share that you have changed since surgery for the better? Or, if you are pre-op or newly WLS what changes do you hope for in the future?

I have definitely learned a sincere compassion for others feelings, good or bad. Support is extremely important in my opinion in the WLS community. No one will ever understand us, like us. Some other things I enjoy about the "new" me is that I have come to accept who I am, my past, my present and feeling excited about my future. I have gained a confidence about myself and now I realize that I really CAN do ANYTHING that I put my mind to. I am studying Business Management and minoring in Nutrition... I never dreamed I'd ever have come this far! I still fight for my health and my life every day, but I also have the confidence within me that I will succeed at that too. No one is perfect, and least of all me - but I am glad I can say that I will fight daily to be the best me I can be.

Enjoy your journey! Every day, every pound we get rid of and every bad or demeaning thought we ever had about ourselves.

I am cleaning house. Literally. I took three days to clean out drawers and my closet and I can say everything in my drawers and closet fit me. What a great feeling to get rid of the big stuff never to fall back on it.

I am cleaning my craft room out. I want to be able to go in and craft and play on the computer, have a "ME" room again instead of a room accumulating stuff.