Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

2 Days Post Op. My Surgical Experience

Hey Sleevees,

Noob here, this is my second post. I am two days post op and though I'd post my experience for those who are about to go through the VGS.

Standard stuff:

Arrived at hospital 2 hrs prior to surgery to prep. Prep consisted of the standard things (IV, blood pressure checks, sugar checks) Wear lose clothes. I had to be naked in a gown for the proceedure. Also, remember not to wear contact lenses. They put leg compression socks around my legs. Don't worry about the leg compression machine. It actually feels good as it massages the legs to prevent clots.

Next they wheeled me into the OR slap a gas mask on me and then next think I know it I'm waking up in recovery room. Now when first waking up you're in a complete daze. I was very nauseated but I never got to the point of puking. I sat in recovery for 3 hrs waiting for a hospital room to open up then they wheeled me in there. Once in the room they are pumping you full of meds and fluids through IV. I had a JP drain in place and an On-Q pain pump. Never was in unbearable pain, just general discomfort. By day two I had felt much better and started walking around the hospital floor while carting around my IV. I mainly did it because I was bored. I was in the hospital one full day and was discharged on day two since I was able to drink and eat Clear liquids with no complications.

Drinking/JP Drain/On-q pain pump: