Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Dec 14, the start of victory or just another battle?

Hey all,

I have been posting here for a few weeks...(I tend to jump right into forums like these).

I figured with my surgery date less than 2 weeks away I better tell my story now.

I work as a private duty in the home caregiver for an alzheimer's patient. I am the case manager and senior caregiver, working 48 hours a week on average. I handle all his doctor visits, liason between the doctors and the family, and manage the scheduling, payroll and household staff.

I had a lapband placed in Sept 2006.

At one point I was up to 1.75 cc in a 4 cc band and life was good. I was managing my portions, losing weight, feeling good.

That all changed when I took my first plane ride. I spent a week not keeping anything down except the thinnest of Protein Shakes. At that time, my after care doctor was a five hour drive away. It was difficult to get off work or get coverage for my job so timing of getting an unfill was always a problem.

I got a slight unfill after this first "too tight" episode and things seemed to settle down for a month or so. I had another trip coming up that required air travel so I went to my aftercare doctor and had a smidge more taken out just to be sure. They took me down to 1 cc in a 4 cc band and checked my restriction under fluroscopy. Everything looked fine.

I flew, had trouble again, returned...spent a miserable week...and went back to the aftercare doctor. They checked under fluroscopy again and took out another .25cc. Ok...relief.....briefly.

Another trip just before Thanksgiving in 2008 (air travel again) and it put me over the edge. This time I was vomiting blood, sleeping sitting up in a chair ...(yes, at my friend's house while on a "getaway" weekend.) We'd go for a walk and I'd have to retch into the bushes five or six times in a 3 block walk. When I got home from that trip I insisted on a total unfill.