Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

From Couch to Triathlete - A Sleeve Story

I have chronicled my journey on my blog and encourage anyone who is thinking about either getting a sleeve or training for a triathlon to try it out. But here is a summary of my story:

A little over a year ago, I was in big trouble. I was at my highest weight yet. I had stopped exercising. My blood pressure required medicine to control. I had plantar fasciitis and my allergies (I thought) were out of control. Toward the end, I started to get very bad heartburn that would not respond to medicine. I was getting to the point where I had to sit down to tie my shoes and I was moving less and less. I looked into the future and it was not pretty.

But I didn't know what to do. I had been dieting for 35 years and it obviously hadn't worked. I didn't think I had another diet in me.

Then I ran into my next-door neighbor, who had had WLS about 6 months before. And contrary to the media portrayal of WLS, he had lost weight and looked good -- healthy. This somehow made WLS seem acceptable and I started looking into it.

Like most people I only knew about the band and RnY and I didn't want RnY. So I started researching the band and found LapBandTalk.com. It's a good thing I did because watching what people with bands went through -- normal people who followed the rules and still had problems -- made me more open to other possibilities. Then the long-term studies on the band showing what a high re-surgery rate it had started coming out.

In the meantime, I had learned about ghrelin and how it makes people think they are hungry. That was an "aha" moment for me and I realized that the reason I was hungry all the time was because I had too much ghrelin in me. I wanted a surgery that directly addressed that and the band did not. So I changed my mind and started the process of getting a sleeve.