Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Scared or Doubting? I was too.

I have been exploring WLS for 10 years. Kept backing out for various reasons. Cancelled in August because I just couldn't get my mind around doing something so dramatic that I should be able to do on my own. Almost cancelled 3 days before my surgery but my nurse talked me down and I read a lot of success stories and...

Had surgery on January 9. Went very smoothly. Very little pain or gas. Was able to eat without much nausea. Nausea only happened with Morphine. Eating and drinking fine. Walking on day 1. Home 2 days later. Eating is fine, exercise fine, no pain. Stopped pain meds 1 day before leaving hospital. Only annoyance was incision drain. Very sore by the time I had removed yesterday. Removal was easy, and feel so much better now.

So...I tell you all this because I was so torn about doing this. The surgery was easy, I feel fine and it doesn't even feel like I had surgery. I did this more for health and less for looks, but both will benefit. I was down 11 pounds in one week. I encourage anyone who is wavering to hang in there and do your research. You will get through it and you will be glad you did.

@@Keke288

Congratulations on the surgery - sounds like you have it in the bag!!

Now for clothes shopping ;)

Kate

@@keke 288, dod you have the sleeve or bypass?Sent from my SM-N920P using the BariatricPal App

@@keke 288, dod you have the sleeve or bypass?Sent from my SM-N920P using the BariatricPal App

I had gastric sleeve. Was recommended by 2 different doctors

Thank you for your story. I am in the same boat. Scared. My surgery is scheduled for 1/30

Sent from my iPhone using the BariatricPal App