Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Binge eating

I am pretty sure if you try to eat too much with a teeny tiny tummy it will come right back up. My surgery is 10/31 so I am no expert but most people say they feel full to uncomfortable to downright in pain if they try to eat more than a couple of ounces, at least for several months following the surgery.

If you binge eat you can do real damage and possible death if you do it after surgery. If you think there is still a possibility of you doing that, DO NOT GET SURGERY.

The average person who has surgery has to deal with head hunger to overcome. They need to really drive this fact into their patients head because I know I wasnt prepared for it in the beginning.

Sent from my SM-G930P using the BariatricPal App

Binge eating is an eating disorder and nothing to do with the size of your stomach. You can and probably will do it after VSG if you do not address the eating disorder. I am 10 months out and if wanted to I could binge... Also early on when the stomach is healing binging could cause serious complications. It could even be deadly. Good news is there is effective treatment for this disorder. Many with the disorder are doing quite well with the help of therapy. Your surgeon's office should be able to recommend a therapist that can help. Best of luck to you!

I really hope you are getting psychological assistance with this eating disorder...as I'm sure you know WLS repairs the stomach not the mind and your at risk for developing other eating issues as well. I mean this in all kindness. Im truly concerned with your well-being and wonder if you disclosed this problem in yr psych evaluation? Anyways, I know I deal with some emotional eating issues which is not as intense as binge eating but I see a psychologist and he helps me alot. I get sleeved tomorrow.