Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Slimes for 5 hours? What the ?!?!

I'm on a kindle, so I can't see what I am typing. For this reason, I have to type my post as a response. Please wait a few minutes.

I need some insight into what may have caused my sliming and vomiting for an agonizing 5 hours last night.

First off, I am 6 months post op and have never experienced anything close to this before. I had some sliming/vomiting after eating fresh kale a few months back, but it was brief and mild.

I started the day yesterday with a Protein shake and three ounces of tuna at lunch. It may be helpful to mention that I had a terribly stressful day at work. Due to an extreme shortage in teachers, I had to take over some classes at the inner city high school. Some of the classes had over 50 students (band/chorus) and there were no lesson plans left. Plus, the computer/DVD player did not work. Add to that the fact that I have never worked with high school students before. It never occurred to me that students would actually try to escape class once my back was turned or make up a song about my ass.

Once I got home, I was overly tired and stressed. Not only was I hungry (it was 6 hours since I had the tuna at lunch), but I was also craving something sweet. I don't normally consume sugar, so I decided to eat butterscotch (sugar free/fat free) pudding with skim milk. Yes, I know it is packed with preservatives and wasn't the most healthy choice, but it was what I had on hand. This wasn't a new food because I usually consume it with no problems a few times a month. It was eaten over a 30 minute period.

I started getting a severe stomachache along with sliming, burping, and belching 30 minutes later. The belching would bring up some of the pudding along with thick mucus and saliva. Whatever I tried I could not get myself to vomit. This went on for 5 hours! I didn't want to take an antacid or stomach reliever because I didn't think I could keep it down.