Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Anyone benefit from meditation?

I've been doing a monthly group guided meditation class and have started to meditate every night before bed. For me it is a spiritual practice and I would say that maintaining my weight loss is as much a spiritual practice as it is a physical practice. I do believe in the mind-body connection.

I believe that meditation helps me to release negative energy, such as sadness and anger, instead of turning to food as a coping mechanism. Self soothing with food was my pattern of behavior when I was morbidly obese — a habit that likely played a pivotal role in my becoming morbidly obese in the first place.

Has anyone tried meditation?

I have been meditating for about four years. I meditate first thing in the morning four a few minutes before I get out of bed. It has been so beneficial for strees, anger and anything else negative that I can meditate out with positive thoughts.

@@My Bariatric Life, funny you should mention that. Just last night my husband reminded me that I haven't meditated in a while (he has been meditating for over a year). I started about seven months ago, shortly before my surgery. After my surgery I began to do it very sporadically and lately, I have to admit, I haven't done it at all and I can feel the difference. Meditating helped me to feel calm and to de-stress. I also felt more connected to God.

It was meant for me to read your post today. I will start again this evening.

Love Mindful Meditation and all the benefits -- should bea dointt hat now instead of this! Less screen time, more silence and breathing.

Yes! I think it helps with self control in every aspect of my life. :-)

@@Liz5012 I like that idea of meditating for a few minutes before you get out of bed. I may incorporate that into my daily practice!

@@Kathy812 that's so great -- I've learned that there is no coincidence, only synchronicity. So yes, you were meant to read my post!