Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Sleeve or Lap Band? Scared of making wrong choice!

I am nearly done with insurance required diet and will attend surgeon seminar on Monday. I've done LOTS of research and have read books and I believe I am educated on risks and benefits of each option. I'm leaning toward sleeve mainly because no foreign object inside me and no hassle with fills. My husband and my mom are convinced band is best since it can be adjusted and mom is not convinced I won't stretch out and regain long term with sleeve. Has anyone else agonized over choice of surgery to get? No doubt I need one or the other. I'm not on the fence to do this but a little confused my best option. Do most surgeons eventually try to help each person custom fit this decision for them?

I am not a doctor, but when I was researching. My doctor said the band is slowly going away. I also learned that each time you have the band adjusted you might get charged an outpatient charge. In my case it as 200.00 an adjustment. At the beginning there are many adjustments. So if you don't think you will have the money you might want to look at another choice. I sure would hate to have surgery and then fail because I didn't have the money for the adjustments. My doctor suggested the RNY because of the amount of weight I had to lose. I am very happy with my RNY, Hope you find peace in the choice you make!

Sleeve! Only because I have it...that's all

I have the band now and I regret ever getting it. It's now slipped and caused a hernia, I lost 70 pounds but puked every step of the way. I get it out and converted to the sleeve on the 26th. I wish I had done this first .