Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I'm getting very nervous. Afraid of complications. How often do complications happen? It's not the norm is it? I had a friend call and say "do you really want to do this?"

Relax! Breathe! I don't think complications are the norm. I think we just hear about all the complications and that makes it seem like it happens all the time. I think most surgeries go off without a hitch. Try to relax and if you're still worried about it, maybe talk to your surgeon. They can probably reassure you and make you feel more confident.

Casey999 I think many times complications are often related to not following all the instructions carefully. I am a nurse but not in this field at all. I did a lot of research and complications were related to not getting enough fluids, not getting up walking soon enough (causing clots or pneumonia)or not eating the appropriate foods (causing leaks). Everything has to be reported as a complication whether is was for a reason that was brought on or just by chance so the rates look at little higher than other surgeries. Also, many complications come from patients that have other serious health concerns like heart problems, blood flow concerns etc. If you do not have these complications you should do just fine as long as you follow the instructions carefully. If you do have any of these complications just make sure to be very honest about any symptoms to your doc during your per-op and make sure that he/she has done a thorough review of any issues.

I am 6 days post-op and no complications at all to this point. Got up walking as soon as I could and have stuck 100% to the diet they have given me. Taking care of my wounds as they instructed.

I think you will do well :)

Thanks ladies. You are both right. I did research this and still decided to do it. I have to stop being a baby!